Posted in Random Thoughts

Reflections at 50


I was thinking yesterday about where my life is right now… and what it took to get here.

I’m amazed at 50 years old where life has taken me.  I’m amazed at the twists and turns along the journey, and where the path has led me.  I’m amazed at what I’m learning, at what I have the opportunity to learn, and at the fun I’m having with it all.

Yeah, I have some regrets about things in the past.  But they don’t stop me and I don’t dwell on them.  I’m reminded of a line in a song: Today is just a pleasant interruption to the past.

I miss my kids and my family terribly.  But I keep in touch with them and that helps immensely.  I pray for them daily, for their safety, for their finances, for their health, for their happiness.  I’m proud of every single one of them.  They’ve all turned out to be beautiful, loving, fantastic adults.  I know their journey won’t always be easy.  But I also know they are reassured by the thought that there are a lot of people who love them and are always a phone call away to support them in whatever they’re doing.

I have a good life.  It’s simple, but I like it that way.  Sure, I’m living in a place I never imagined I’d ever be.  In fact, it was never even on my list of places to visit!  But God had a plan.  I’m working from home, something I’ve always wanted to do, but never had the means or opportunity to do until now.  I’m learning a lot of new skills and I’m enjoying it!

There’s a lot of work to be done on the house, and at times I find it frustrating that we don’t have as much time to devote to that as I’d like.  But I know that in good time we’ll get everything accomplished that we have planned.  And once we do, we’ll sell this place and buy our retirement home.  A place that’ll be bigger and have room for everything we want to do.

All in all, I’d say I’m pretty content with where I’ve ended up.  And I look forward to all the wonderful new things that God has in store for me still.

What I’m listening to: “Forever May You Run” by Gavin Rossdale.

Leave a Reply

